New and Honored Sandy Run Ruritan Members

The Sandy Run Ruritan Club is delighted to have four new members join its club. In November Jill and Gene Crim joined us as full members. In December Teresa Helms joined as a full member; her husband, Laverne Helms, not pictured, joined as an associate member. We want to thank Sheila Shanklin for her nominations of these four members.

At the December Christmas banquet, we also recognized two 25 year members, Howard Pees, the chair of our Citizenship and Patriotism Service Committee, former club president and former Ruritan of the Year for the club and the Columbia District, and Marshall Stabler, our camera man, former treasurer and Director on the Ruritan Board. Both of these gentlemen have been devoted workers for the Sandy Run Ruritan Club all these many years.

On December 5 there were 48 members and visitors who attended our awards banquet, dinner and officer installation. The Service Committee chairs, Gary Geiger, Snooky McCullar, Becky Starnes and Sheila Shanklin, Howard Pees and James Robinson received their gold certificates for their committees and Sheila Shanklin received her National Ruritan Foundation Award.

New officers were presented. Ginger Hardee will be the new president, Andrew Price, vice president; Elizabeth Price, secretary; Peg Nelson, treasurer; Kay James, past president, Snooky McCullar, Zone 2 governor; Glenn James, director, and Marshall Stabler, director.

All interested citizens who want to improve the Sandy Run Community and are service oriented are welcome. We meet on the first Tuesday at the Sandy Run Community Center at 7:00 p.m.

#SandyRunRuritanClub #CalhounCounty #CalhounLedger

All content protected by U.S. copy right laws.

© 2017 Covenant Digital Media, LLC